I started ROMANCE IN COLOR when I realized that there were very few website which focused on African-American romance.  I'm a published author, writing for the Harlequin Kimani Arabesque line.  My debut release, Capture the Sunrise, was released as part of a 2-in-1 volume with which Arabesque launched its first two male authors.  I'm a member of Romance Writers of America.  In December 2013, my tenth full length novel, TOUCH MY HEART, will go on sale.  When I'm not writing, you can find me online the Harlequin Community where I'm the host of the Kimani Press area.
I was born and raised on Galveston Island. I am an avid reader which is a trait I inherited from my mother, who became deliriously happy when she discovered my best-friends’ mother liked to read as well. So, whenever she ran out of books she told me to call Gayla’s mom. I finally just gave her the number. I am single with two four-legged children. I am a teacher and currently teaching a Lifeskills & Autism class full of girls. Reading is my way of relaxing, traveling, and escaping. My hobbies are reading, traveling, and singing in my church choir. Maybe at some point in life I will actually sit down and write a novel of my own.
If I had to describe myself in word, it would be; dissatisfied. I believe being dissatisfied keeps me striving to be a better mother, writer, and person. To this extent, I have a Bachelors Degree in Legal Studies, is licensed as a Real Estate Agent, and a member of the RWA. When I am not working or parenting, I spend my time traveling and working on my manuscripts. My favorite genre is contemporary romance but I often read other genres. I have published literary papers through my College although I am not formally published. I will be somewhat satisfied when I attain my goal of becoming a published author.
As a certified bookaholic, or the more polite term - Professional Reader, there is nothing I enjoy more than talking, discussing, and reviewing books. As a friend says every book is not for everybody, but every book is for somebody and I like matching up books with the right person. While I enjoying reading in a broad spectrum of genres, my favorite genres are romance, historical fiction, literary fiction and speculative fiction. As a retired technology consultant, I am interested in the evolving changes technology has brought to the publishing industry. Some of my other interests are traveling, practicing yoga, and sports.
I am the Communications Manager for a local county government agency. In this position, which I have held since 1994, I coordinate public relations, media relations, community outreach, and the preparation of promotional materials and advise community groups on workshop/special program development. I am a native of St. Albans, West Virginia, and have lived in Columbus, Ohio for 32 years. My education and 34 years of work experience encompasses many aspects of public relations, broadcasting, journalism, desktop publishing and government relations. I am married to my best friend and have three children; only one of which still lives at home. I am thrilled to be a reviewer for Romance in Color. I have always been an avid reader, but only recently decided to carve out time for myself to escape in the world of African American Romance fiction. I read AA Romance novels as a way to relax and tune out the daily drama. In my job I am required to write often. I am very good at proofreading and summarizing information for the average reader. I am hoping to bring these skills to this position. I plan to retire in four years and I would like to edit, review or write novels full-time.
I was born and raised in Canton, Mississippi. After graduating high school, I married John, my high school sweetheart. From that union two children were born, Derrick and Kimberly. In 1982 we relocated to Houston, Texas where we lived for many years. Although I have always been an avid reader, this is where my love for romance novels was born. Imagine my excitement when I discovered black romance novels existed. A few years ago I decided to try my hand at writing. I am not a published writer as yet, but I am hopeful for the future.

I am a Christian, wife, mother, grandmother, and retired educator. I am from East St. Louis, IL, just across the Mississippi River from St. Louis, MO. I like to travel and read. I’ve been married to a wonderful man for 31 years and we’ve raised a son and daughter. They are married and  have given us a beautiful granddaughter and a handsome grandson. I love my retired life ( since 2009). I taught in the public school system  in East St. Louis ( the same school district I received my education) . I workout twice a week, and I read as many novels as I can. It’s a wonderful life!
I’m a Texas woman, born and raised. I’m also the proud mother of a sassy six year old diva and a proud wife to an amazing man. In addition to our daughter, we have a little yorkie named Ray Ray, who my daughter absolutely loves. My hobbies, besides reading; are arts and crafts, writing, photography, and sleeping! Can I count sleeping? LOL! I absolutely love well written romance novels; especially ones that have happy endings and no cliffhangers. One day, I plan to travel the world with my family; but until that day comes, I’ll continue to experience various parts of our world through awesome books.
    _uacct = "UA-3311325-1"; urchinTracker();
Romance in Color Staff